Fun and The Importance of Play: Why Adults Need to Play, Too

14Oct08

Some people can become ill because they are so stressed. I was one of those people last year. I didn’t even realise it until someone suggested that was the reason why I wasn’t well and when I thought about it, they could be right. People cope differently with stress, in some people, you can see that they are stressed and they will tell you that they are. In other kinds of people, like me, I don’t tend to show it. And that’s what has a negative affect on me. Over the Summer I decided to start a hobby and that was by opening an eBay shop. I love it, it’s so fun and it helps you unwind by giving you something to do. I now sell handmade jewelery like earrings, rings, badges and necklaces. I don’t sell them for much but over the summer I made over £150, which is good for a hobby! I wouldn’t call it a job though!

“It’s important to your stress level and your happiness quotient that you have at least one activity that you do regularly just for fun. Hobbies and other fun activities provide a fun way to sharpen skills, express your creativity, or just blow off steam. Also, when you get really engrossed in an activity you enjoy, you can experience a state of being know as ‘flow’, in which your brain is in a near-meditative state, which has benefits for your for your body, mind and soul.

Hobbies and fun activities can bring added joy and happiness to life, and can be a great way to relieve stress as well. In fact, many hobbyists have told me that they’d originally started learning about their area of interest as a coping mechanism for stress, and that their hobbies continue to be a great source of relaxation and stress relief. Some people are even able to turn their hobbies into careers at some point, and end up with a lifestyle where their work is their play.”

http://stress.about.com/od/funandgames/qt/play.htm

No Responses Yet to “Fun and The Importance of Play: Why Adults Need to Play, Too”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

