John Lawrence

01Jan08

I think I’m just in a funny mood today when it comes to illustrations. None of the illustrations that I’ve researched today seem to appeal to me? Which is a bit strange. But 100% opinion, I’m sorry!

John Lawrence is yet another person that works for Warner books, and he has contributed to over 100 books for children and adults as an illustrator and a wood engraver. “He is renowned for his striking images that use tools and methods of engraving from the eighteenth century” – http://www.warnerbooks.co.uk/.

I’ve just actually been on his website and it won’t let me right click any of the images, it comes up with a copyright thing… So I’m going to leave it just encase. In the meantime though I did manage to find a front cover to one of the Books he illustrated for when he worked for Warner Books.

I like this illustration, i think it might be because of the thick black outlines to highlight the chickens yet he’s kept the grass and background relatively “in the background” if you see what I mean so it focuses on what the book is about. I like the colours too like the bold red and yellows.

No Responses Yet to “John Lawrence”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

